Skip to main content

TV Technology Announces STAR and Mario Awards at the 2008 NAB Show

TV Technology, the US-based sister magazine to TV Technology Europe and TV Technology Asia/Pacific, has announced the recipients for the coveted STAR and Mario Awards presented at the 2008 NAB Show.

Now in its ninth year, the STAR Awards (for Superior Technology Award Recipient) are designed to celebrate and showcase the preeminent technological innovations available to the media industry. A panel of judges consisting of TV Technology editors and columnists reviewed a variety of products and services, examined the technical applications and their overall contribution to the industry, and then submitted their award nominees.

“Every year, the NAB show serves as the launching pad for thousands of new products and services for audio and video professionals,” said Tom Butts, TV Technology Editor. “Our panel of editors walked the show floor in search of the most innovative technologies. The products and services that we selected for the STAR Award made the cut—they demonstrated their ability to help advance the acquisition and distribution of entertainment and information across the media spectrum.”

Organized in 1993, the Mario Awards were established to recognize products that represent significant technical breakthroughs—many of these products and services have gone on to significantly impact the future of audio and video technology. The awards are named after Mario Orazio, a pseudonym for a nameless engineer and a renowned technology columnist for TV Technology (and sometimes TV Tech Europe and TV Tech Asia) who pens the industry’s most widely read column “The Masked Engineer.” The awards are given out annually at the NAB Show to companies that demonstrate forward thinking and technical excellence in their products.

Recipients of the STAR Awards are:
AdobeAdobe Media PlayerAdtec DigitalTotal ATSC Solution
AOptix LCT-5Lasercom TerminalBaron ServicesOmniBIAS, Inc.SoundSoap ProBitcentralAirNowBlackmagic DesignBroadcast Video HubChyronAxis GraphicsDK-TechnologiesA/S PT0760M HD/SD Multi-Channel Video Waveform MonitorDynacoreDS-130 Series Camera BatteriesEchoLabMultichannel Instant ReplyEvertz7780-AS-CS ASI Auto SwitcherFrezziHD Nickel Zinc BatteriesHarmonic/Modulation SciencesDigital PRO IFB SystemIDXCam Wave Wireless Transmission SystemInnovision/Schneider OpticsDV Probe lensJamproRWED-516-U Mask Filter/Combiner KINO FLO/ Element LabsKelvin TILE LED Fixture K-WillVP3000 Portable Video Quality MonitorLinear AcousticAeromax 5.1-XLLitepanelsMicro LED On-Camera Light FixtureMatroxMXO2 I/O Box for FCP2 and Adobe CS3 for MacMaximum ThroughputMAXedit Web EditionMicrowave Radio CommunicationsAMG1000 Advanced Mobile GatewayMirandaDAP-1781 8 Channel Digital Audio Processor NeutrikMale/Female ConnectorPanasonicBT-LH 1760 17-inch LCD MonitorRF CentralRFX-PRX Portable Digital Microwave ReceiverRohde & SchwarzETL TV AnalyzerRoscoLITEPAD DLSachtlerSOOM TripodSonyBVM-L420 LCD MonitorSony Creative SoftwareSony Vegas 8.1Sound Devices788T Eight Track Digital Audio RecorderTandberg TelevisionRX8320 ReceiverTelemetricsEWM (Elevating Wall Mount)ThomsonMediaFUSETransvideoCineMonitor HD Field MonitorsTroll SystemsTroll A600 Diversity AntennaVintenVector 750WohlerWohler Plus
Recipients of the Mario Awards are:
AOptix BroadcastLasercom Free-Space Transmission SystemAgilentN9340B Spectrum AnalyzerFast Forward VideoElite HD J2K Camera-Back RecorderHoodmanWristShot Hand-Held Camera MountIkononskopA-Cam 16-mm Film CameraNagraNagra LB Audio RecorderPanasonicAG-HMC70 CamcorderRushworksRemo Truck-in-a-BoxStorenetD-Rex LCP-100 HD Video EnhancerToshibaSCiB Battery