Skip to main content

Broadcast Engineering announces 8th annual Excellence Awards winners

Broadcast Engineering has announced the winners of its 8th annual Excellence Awards contest. The Excellence Awards are the industry’s standard of measurement for new facilities, recognizing innovation, high-quality design and construction. Eligible entries include those featuring telco, cable, broadcast and production facilities, and technology.

The entries are published in the Broadcast Engineering December Digital Reference Guide. Readers then vote for their favorite entries online, and the winners are announced at NAB 2009 and featured in the special March NAB Preview issue. The winners will receive their award plaques at the NAB convention.

This year’s winners, by category, are:

New studio or RF technology — station

Winner: ESPN Teleport submitted by ESPN
Runner-up: WFYI submitted by WFYI

New studio technology — network

Winner: Global TV submitted by Orad
Runner-up: Scripps Networks submitted by XOrbit

New studio technology — HD

Winner: The Weather Channel submitted by Snell & Wilcox
Runner-up: “ET” and “The Insider” submitted by Avid

New studio technology — non-broadcast

Winner: The Carolina Panthers submitted by Ross Video
Runner-up: Newseum submitted by Front Porch Digital

Station automation

Winner: DIRECTV submitted by OmniBus
Runner-up: ESPN Star Sports submitted by TSL

Network automation

Winner: Rainbow Network Communications submitted by Communications Engineering, Inc.

Newsroom technology

Winner: Sky News submitted by BSkyB (Sky News)
Runner-up: The AP submitted by Professional Products

Post & network production facilities

Winner: NBC Olympics submitted by NBC Universal
Runner-up: Turner Entertainment Networks submitted by AmberFin

Congratulations to all the entrants and winners. To check out the winning entries, click on the above links.