Skip to main content

Technology and Engineering Emmy Winners Announced

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) has announced winners for technology and engineering for broadcast television, selected by industry experts.

Below are the winners, who will receive their Emmys 7 January at the 2008 Consumer Electronic Show in Las Vegas.

The awards for ATSC Broadcast Transmission System RF Filters will go to Electronics Research Inc. (ERI), Dielectric, Harris and MCI.

The awards for Development, productization, and commercialization of interactive Video-on-Demand (VOD) two-way infrastructure and signalling, leading to large scale VOD implementations will go to Time Warner Cable, Scientific-Atlanta and N2 Broadband.

The Emmy Award for Coaxial Cable Technology will go to AT&T.

The Emmy Award for Pioneering development of a fully monitored fibre-optic based digital network for occasional use and full time video services with fully provisioned local video access at shared use sports venues will go to Vyvx Services.

The Emmy Award for Development and Implementation of an integrated and portable IP-based live, edit and store-and-forward digital newsgathering system will go to CNN.

The Emmy Awards for Monitoring for compliance standards for ATSC and DVB transport streams will go to Rohde & Schwarz, Tektronix, Thomson and Pixelmetrix.

NATAS also announced the nominees for 11 "science, technology and engineering for broadband and personal television" categories. The winners will be announced at CES on 7 January.