Senate Confirms Rosenworcel to a New FCC Term

Jessica Rosenworcel
(Image credit: FCC)

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The Senate has voted to confirm Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel to another term at the Commission, a move that will make her the first female non-acting chair to head the agency

The vote was 68 in favor and 31 opposed and came after the Senate voted yesterday, December 7, to move the nomination to a full vote. 

In response to the confirmation, National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) president and CEO Gordon Smith said in a statement that the “NAB congratulates FCC Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel on her confirmation to another five-year term at the Commission and her historic appointment as chair. She is a dedicated public servant who has demonstrated effective leadership and expertise on telecommunications issues during her tenure at the FCC. We look forward to continuing to work with her and her fellow commissioners on ensuring a vibrant future for free and local broadcasting.”

TV Tech will post other reactions to the historic confirmation as they become available.  

George Winslow

George Winslow is the senior content producer for TV Tech. He has written about the television, media and technology industries for nearly 30 years for such publications as Broadcasting & Cable, Multichannel News and TV Tech. Over the years, he has edited a number of magazines, including Multichannel News International and World Screen, and moderated panels at such major industry events as NAB and MIP TV. He has published two books and dozens of encyclopedia articles on such subjects as the media, New York City history and economics.