Skip to main content

NAB Freedom of Speech PSA Winners Announced

WASHINGTON: Winners of the annual Freedom of Speech public service announcement contest have been announced.

The NAB Educational Foundation and Broadcast Education Association organized the competition, with funding from the McCormick Foundation.

Open to college students enrolled in communications programs, the contest asked participants to create 30-second spots that conveyed the importance of free speech in entertaining and creative ways.

“Freedom of speech is a principle that provides the very foundation of our broadcast industry,” NABEF President Marcellus Alexander stated in the announcement. “The winning students in this competition effectively and creatively conveyed what it means to them.”

Winning entries include:
Television Category
1st Place: Jenna James, Ball State University
2nd Place: Sean-Michael Hoban, East Carolina University
3rd Place: Jason Moore, California State University Northridge

Radio Category
1st Place: Caitlin Johnson, Rowan University
2nd Place: Saraya Wintersmith, Howard University
3rd Place: Mason Alexander, The Art Institute of Atlanta

First-place winners will be awarded in person at this year’s Society of Professional Journalists’ conference in September in New Orleans.