ATSC Elects Glenn Reitmeier Chairman of the Board

Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee have elected Glenn Reitmeier, vice president of technology policy, standards and strategy at NBC Universal, to be the 2007 chairman of the board of directors.

As a leader in establishing the digital television standard, Reitmeier was instrumental in establishing the ITU 601 component digital video standard and led the Sarnoff-Thomson-Philips-NBC development of Advanced Digital HDTV, which pioneered the use of MPEG compression, packetized transport, and multiple video formats. He was also a key member of the Digital HDTV Grand Alliance from 1993 to 1996, which laid the framework for the original ATSC DTV Standard. He holds over 50 patents in digital video technology.

Reitmeier has been an active participant in ATSC--an international, non-profit organization developing voluntary standards for advanced television systems--since its inception in 1982, contributing to its technology and standards group, the planning committee and the board's strategic planning and membership subcommittees.

"This is an exciting time for the ATSC as we define the next stage of the digital revolution in television broadcasting," said Reitmeier. "I look forward to working with all of our members to develop the standards that will create new capabilities for delivering content to consumers through innovative DTV products and services."

Reitmeier succeds Rob Rast as chairman. ATSC members also elected three new members to the board including Jay Adrick, vice president of broadcast technology architecture at Harris; John Godfrey, vice president of government and public affairs at Samsung; and Craig Todd, senior vice president and CTO at Dolby Laboratories.