The fifth annual EXCELLENCE AWARDS

And the winners are …

With five Excellence Awards under our belt, we've got this process nailed down. This year's 42 entries topped last year's by 25 percent. And, in a time of rapid transition, consolidation and HD conversion, Broadcast Engineering is leading the charge to full digital and HD television.

As always, our readers picked the winners. We believe that because our readers are so involved in the industry, they know what technology works best. That's why they're the judges.

Drum roll, please … The winning entries are featured throughout the next 17 pages.

Please stop by the winners' booths to congratulate them. The 2005 winners of the Broadcast Engineering Excellence Awards are the finest facility installations. Congratulations winners! You're the best.

The names of the voters who were picked to win Broadcast Engineering T-shirts from the random drawing are shown on page 12.

This year's winners are: New studio technology — station:Winner: WMHT110 Submitted by: CEI Winner: KNTV and Telemundo110 Submitted by: Ascent Runner-up: TV8 and TV17110 Submitted by: Omneon New studio technology — network:Winner: Discovery112 Submitted by: Ascent Runner-up: Medcom112 Submitted by: AZCAR New studio technology — HD:Winner: ESPN114 Submitted by: Grass Valley Runner-up: NBC's SNL114 Submitted by: The Systems Group New studio technology — non-broadcast:Winner: LSU116 Submitted by: Network Electronics Runner-up: Columbia116 Submitted by: Media 3 Station automation:Winner: Bay News 9118 Submitted by: OmniBus Winner: WISC-TV118 Submitted by: Sundance Digital Network automation:Winner: TV Guide Channel120 Submitted by: Omneon Runner-up: CBC-TV120 Submitted by: Inscriber Newsroom technology:Winner: SBT122 Submitted by: Leitch Runner-up: WFTV122 Submitted by: Avid Post & network production facilities:Winner: Food Network124 Submitted by: Solid State Logic Runner-up: CIRIS124 Submitted by: SGI RF systems:Winner: KNTV-TV126 Submitted by: Thales Runner-up: WCJB-TV126 Submitted by: Axcera