TV Technology Europe Announces STAR Award Recipients

TV Technology Europe has announced the winners for the STAR Awards (Superior Technology Award Recipient) presented at IBC2006.

The STAR Awards are designed to celebrate and showcase the preeminent technological innovations available to the broadcast industry. TV Technology Europe editors and columnists reviewed a variety of products, examined the technical applications and their overall contribution to the industry, and then submitted their award nominees.

"STAR awards are given to interesting new products that help a user save money or accomplish a task in an easier way," said Mark Hallinger, editor of TV Technology Europe. "The products selected help advance the industry--some were chosen because of technical novelty or innovation, some because they filled an important gap in the production or transmission chain, and some because they were just cool products."

Recipients of the STAR awards are:

• AutoScript/Vinten VisioniScript, a portable prompting solution that integrates Vinten tripod and head equipment and AutoScript's GoPrompt 12 portable prompter.

• BlackMagic Intensity, a $249 HDMI capture playback card that allows consumer cameras with HDMI video connections to move beyond compressed HDV video to uncompressed editing and design.

• BrickHouse Syntax with Let It Wave technology, an upconverter that uses Super-Resolution Bandlet technology.

• Broadcast Pix Slate 1000, a system that includes a switcher control panel, CG, clip store, and multiview monitoring of program, preview, sources and keys.

• Chyron WAPSTR, software that ingests mobile phone video and stills into the newsroom workflow, allowing this content to quickly get to air.

• FOR-A FRC-7000 frame-rate converter, an HD frame rate converter with motion compensation processing technology and scene cut detection.

• Mediornet X-Link, which allows users to interface, route and transport any type of data over a centralized, secure network via a single, compact system.

• Miranda Kaleido-X, a single chassis multi-image display with integrated SD/HD routing.

• NETIA speech-to-text Media Logging, the integration of SailLabs speech recognition technology in NETIA's logging product.

• Shotoku S-DASH pan & tilt head system, a super-high speed pan and tilt system designed for shooting very high-speed movement such as sports and motor racing.

• Snell & Wilcox' iCR Automated Content Repurposing Workstation, a system that automatically creates, packages, and repurposes content for multiple distribution platforms.

• SoundField DSF-2 Digital Microphone Controller, developed to provide simultaneous digital surround and stereo soundscapes at large outside broadcast events.

• StreamBox SBT3-7500 ACT-L3, an SNG encoder built on StreamBox's ACT-L3 codec and proprietary compression, and integrated in a very portable device.

• Thomson Grass Valley LDK 8000, a 14-bit A/D Sampling, 24-bit resolution digital signal processing camera.

• Volicon Observer, a video, audio, and data monitoring system that allows broadcasters to record, store, search and retrieve media in real time from multiple broadcast sources.

A story profiling the 15 winners will appear in the post-IBC coverage of TV Technology Europe and sister publication TV Technology Asia/Pacific.