SBE to Honor Winners at 2003 National Awards Dinner

The Society of Broadcast Engineers (SBE) will award the winners of its 2003 SBE National Awards during the national meeting held October 26 and 27 in Marlborough, Mass.

The recipient of the SBE Broadcast Engineer of the Year Award for 2003 goes to James T. Bernier, Jr. of Alpharetta, Ga. Bernier is director maintenance, design and engineering for Turner Entertainment Networks. He has overseen the design and creation of new network facilities, including TNT, TBS, Cartoon Network, Turner Classic Movies and networks in South America.

Winner of the SBE Educator of the Year Award goes to Donald C. Borchert of Sun Prairies, Wis. In 1993, Borchert retired from his position as director of engineering for WHA radio and television of the University of Wisconsin.

The SBE Technology Award for 2003 goes to Dielectric Communications, for its Dualblend Series Antenna.

The Award for Best Technical Article, Book or Program by an SBE member goes to Thomas R. Ray III, CPBE, for his article, Running Interference, which appeared in the April 2003 issue of Radio magazine.