Satellite Update – May 5, 2011

From FCC Report SAT-00776:

  • •The FCC granted Intelsat New Dawn Company special temporary authority (STA) for 30 days to conduct in-orbit testing of Intelsat New Dawn at 23.1 degrees East Longitude (EL). Intelsat is allowed to operate the communications payload on Intelsat New Dawn at that location using 3625-4200 MHz, 10950-11200 MHz and 11450-11700 MHz (space-to-Earth) and 5850-6500 MHz and 14000-14500 (Earth-to-space). Telemetry, tracking and telecommand necessary to support in orbit testing at 23.1 degrees EL and to drift Intelsat New Dawn to its designated location at 32.8 degrees EL after testing is complete is authorized using 3947.5 MHz, 3950 MHz, 3952.5 MHz, 11198 MHz and 11452 MHz (space-to-Earth) and 6173.7 MHz and 6176.3 MHz (Earth-to-space).
  • •SES Americom received STA for 30 days to operate AMC-4 at 67 degrees west longitude with a 0.1-degree change in the azimuth of the satellite's North American beam from the azimuth previously authorized.
Doug Lung

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. As vice president of Broadcast Technology for NBCUniversal Local, H. Douglas Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings. Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.
A longtime columnist for TV Technology, Doug is also a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is the recipient of the 2023 NAB Television Engineering Award. He also received a Tech Leadership Award from TV Tech publisher Future plc in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.