Skip to main content

Satellite Update - Jan. 14, 2010

From FCC Report SAT-00657 [PDF]:

  • • Intelsat North America LLC requested special temporary authority (STA) to continue operating Intelsat 706 for 180 days at 54.85 degrees east longitude (EL) using the 3700-4200 MHz, 10.95-11.2 GHz, 11.45-11.7 GHz and 12.50-12.75 GHz bands for space-to-Earth links and the 5925-6425 MHz and 14.0-14.5 GHz bands for Earth-to-space links.

From FCC Report SAT-00658[PDF]:

  • • The FCC granted Intelsat's application for STA to operate Intelsat 706 at 54.85 degrees EL using the frequencies listed above through Feb. 3, 2010. Intelsat North America received STA to continue in-orbit testing of Intelsat-15 at 63.15 degrees EL through Jan. 12, 2010 and to drift it to its assigned orbital location of 85.15 degrees EL after testing is completed. Authorized frequencies are 13.75-14.0 GHz and 14.00-14.50 GHz for Earth-to-space links and 10.95-11.20 GHz, 11.45-11.70 GHz and 12.5-12.75 GHz for space-to-Earth links.

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. He has been with NBC since 1985 and is currently vice president of broadcast technology for NBC/Telemundo stations.