NAB names Engineering Awards recipients

Thomas B. Silliman and Antoon (Tony) Uyttendaele have been named as recipients of the 2008 NAB Engineering Achievement Awards, which will be presented on Wednesday, April 16, during the NAB’s Technology Luncheon.

Silliman is president of Electronics Research Incorporated (ERI), while Uyttendaele is a retired ABC senior advisor of science and technology.

During his tenure at ABC, Uyttendaele played a key role in the evolution of high-definition television by working with major broadcast and consumer equipment manufacturers to create 720p hardware. His efforts contributed to the final adoption of 720p by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU).

He also developed and managed the completion of ABC's C-Band satellite network distribution system and for a number of years served as international chairman of the ITU-Radiocommunication Sector Working Party on Satellite News Gathering, which developed numerous recommendations on uniform standards and operating procedures to make SNG practical worldwide.

Silliman is known for his accomplishments in the field of antenna engineering, having developed a circularly polarized FM broadcast antenna (patented as the “ROTOTILLER” antenna in the 1970s) that was used by radio stations across in the United States

Since then, Silliman has helped develop an antenna system that accommodates both analog and digital radio transmissions.

Since 1959, the NAB Engineering Achievement Awards have honored individuals who have made outstanding achievements and contributions in the broadcast engineering profession.

View Antoon (Tony) Uyttendaele at 2008 NAB, winner of the Engineering Achievement Award.