Skip to main content

Mary Tyler Moore to Receive NAB DSA

Seven-time Emmy Award winning actress Mary Tyler Moore will receive the NAB Distinguished Service Award at the NAB Show in Las Vegas next month.

Moore starred in two of the most highly regarded TV comedy series in history, The Dick Van Dyke Show in the 1960’s and The Mary Tyler Moore Show in the 1970s, which garnered 29 Emmys, including four for its star.

"Mary Tyler Moore is a television icon who not only entertained millions of Americans week after week with her quick humor and amazing talent, but inspired many women of her generation to pursue careers in broadcasting, journalism and related fields," said NAB President and CEO David Rehr. "We are proud to honor her with our Distinguished Service Award for the tremendous impact she's had on broadcasting and for her many years of public service."

Moore has appeared in various films over the years including Ordinary People in 1980 for which she earned an Academy Award nomination. She also acted on Broadway, winning a Tony Award for her performance in Whose Life Is It Anyway?

Moore is the International Chairman of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF). She was honored in 2007 with the JDRF "Humanitarian of the Year" Award. She is also active in numerous animal welfare organizations and funds scholarship programs in the arts and academics.

Moore's book "Growing Up Again: Life, Loves, and Oh Yeah, Diabetes" will be released next month by St. Martin's Press. The book is a memoir of her experiences with type-one diabetes over the past 40 years. All of Moore's proceeds for the book will be donated to the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation.

Each year the NAB Distinguished Service Award recognizes broadcasters who have made significant and lasting contributions to the broadcasting industry. This year Mary Tyler Moore will join the ranks of President Reagan, Edward R. Murrow, Bob Hope, Walter Cronkite, Oprah Winfrey, Charles Osgood and others who've been recognized with the NAB Distinguished Service Award in past years.