Academy presents 2009 Scientific and Engineering Awards

Ed Catmull, co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios, and Mark Kimball, a computer scientist and motion picture technologist, were presented the top 2009 scientific honors by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The announcements were made on Feb. 7 at the 81st Annual Scientific and Technical Academy Awards Show at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, CA.

The Gordon E. Sawyer award was presented to Catmull for his lifetime of technical contributions and leadership in the field of computer graphics for the motion picture industry. Kimball received the John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation for his dedication to his craft and service to the Academy.

The technical achievement award went to Steve Hylén for the development of the Hylén Lens System for motion picture effects photography. Scientific and engineering awards went to Erwin Melzner for the overall concept, including the optical and cooling systems, Volker Schumacher for the optical design, and Timo Müller for the mechanical design, of the Arrimax 18/12 lighting fixture for use in motion picture production.

Another scientific and engineering award went to Jacques Delacoux for the concept and electronic design, and Alexandre Leuchter for the software and electronic design, of the Transvideo-video assist monitors for the motion picture industry.

Another award went to Bruno Coumert and Jacques Debize for the optical design, and Dominique Chervin and Christophe Reboulet for the mechanical design, of the compact and lightweight Angenieux 15-40 and 28-76 zoom lenses, used for handheld motion picture photography.