'Meet the Press' to be Honored at NAB2007

The longest running network television program, "Meet the Press," will be inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame at the NAB2007 Television Luncheon. Plans have been made for the current moderator, Tim Russert, to accept the award.

The program first premiered on radio in 1945 and made the transition to television two years later, premiering on Nov. 6, 1947. The show has run continuously for more than 59 years and has featured interviews with world leaders and U.S. newsmakers.

Every sitting president since John Kennedy to George W. Bush has appeared on "Meet the Press," as have every vice president since Alben Barkley, who served under Harry Truman. Other leaders appearing during the show's lifetime include Ferdinand Marcos, Mikhail Gorhachev, Golda Mier and Fidel Castro.

Russert has served as the show's moderator since 1991. His precursors include Martha Roundtree, Ned Brooks, Lawrence Spivak, Mill Monroe, Marvin Kalb, Roder Mudd, Chris Wallace and Garrick Utley.

Previous NAB Hall of Fame television inductees have included "The Tonight Show," "Star Trek," "Saturday Night Live," "60 Minutes" and "The Today Show."