TV Technology Announces STAR and Mario Awards at the 2008 NAB Show

April 23, 2008
TV Technology, the US-based sister magazine to TV Technology Europe and TV Technology Asia/Pacific, has announced the recipients for the coveted STAR and Mario Awards presented at the 2008 NAB Show.

Now in its ninth year, the STAR Awards (for Superior Technology Award Recipient) are designed to celebrate and showcase the preeminent technological innovations available to the media industry. A panel of judges consisting of TV Technology editors and columnists reviewed a variety of products and services, examined the technical applications and their overall contribution to the industry, and then submitted their award nominees.

“Every year, the NAB show serves as the launching pad for thousands of new products and services for audio and video professionals,” said Tom Butts, TV Technology Editor. “Our panel of editors walked the show floor in search of the most innovative technologies. The products and services that we selected for the STAR Award made the cut—they demonstrated their ability to help advance the acquisition and distribution of entertainment and information across the media spectrum.”

Organized in 1993, the Mario Awards were established to recognize products that represent significant technical breakthroughs—many of these products and services have gone on to significantly impact the future of audio and video technology. The awards are named after Mario Orazio, a pseudonym for a nameless engineer and a renowned technology columnist for TV Technology (and sometimes TV Tech Europe and TV Tech Asia) who pens the industry’s most widely read column “The Masked Engineer.” The awards are given out annually at the NAB Show to companies that demonstrate forward thinking and technical excellence in their products.

Recipients of the STAR Awards are:

AdobeAdobe Media Player
Adtec DigitalTotal ATSC Solution
AOptix LCT-5Lasercom Terminal
Baron ServicesOmni
BIAS, Inc.SoundSoap Pro
Blackmagic DesignBroadcast Video Hub
ChyronAxis Graphics
DK-TechnologiesA/S PT0760M HD/SD Multi-Channel Video Waveform Monitor
DynacoreDS-130 Series Camera Batteries
EchoLabMultichannel Instant Reply
Evertz7780-AS-CS ASI Auto Switcher
FrezziHD Nickel Zinc Batteries
Harmonic/Modulation SciencesDigital PRO IFB System
IDXCam Wave Wireless Transmission System
Innovision/Schneider OpticsDV Probe lens
JamproRWED-516-U Mask Filter/Combiner
KINO FLO/ Element LabsKelvin TILE LED Fixture
K-WillVP3000 Portable Video Quality Monitor
Linear AcousticAeromax 5.1-XL
LitepanelsMicro LED On-Camera Light Fixture
MatroxMXO2 I/O Box for FCP2 and Adobe CS3 for Mac
Maximum ThroughputMAXedit Web Edition
Microwave Radio CommunicationsAMG1000 Advanced Mobile Gateway
MirandaDAP-1781 8 Channel Digital Audio Processor
NeutrikMale/Female Connector
PanasonicBT-LH 1760 17-inch LCD Monitor
RF CentralRFX-PRX Portable Digital Microwave Receiver
Rohde & SchwarzETL TV Analyzer
SachtlerSOOM Tripod
SonyBVM-L420 LCD Monitor
Sony Creative SoftwareSony Vegas 8.1
Sound Devices788T Eight Track Digital Audio Recorder
Tandberg TelevisionRX8320 Receiver
TelemetricsEWM (Elevating Wall Mount)
TransvideoCineMonitor HD Field Monitors
Troll SystemsTroll A600 Diversity Antenna
VintenVector 750
WohlerWohler Plus

Recipients of the Mario Awards are:
AOptix BroadcastLasercom Free-Space Transmission System
AgilentN9340B Spectrum Analyzer
Fast Forward VideoElite HD J2K Camera-Back Recorder
HoodmanWristShot Hand-Held Camera Mount
IkononskopA-Cam 16-mm Film Camera
NagraNagra LB Audio Recorder
PanasonicAG-HMC70 Camcorder
RushworksRemo Truck-in-a-Box
StorenetD-Rex LCP-100 HD Video Enhancer
ToshibaSCiB Battery

Receive regular news and technology updates.
Sign up for our free newsletter here.