Skip to main content


April 25, 2001 - NAB 2001 - Las Vegas, NV –TV Technology announced is has selected the 10 winners of the 2001 Mario Awards. The winners were selected by renowned – and anonymous – TV Technology columnist Mario Orazio, who combed the show floor to select 10 products that represent the most outstanding innovations on display at NAB2001.

The 2001 Mario Award recipients include: AzcarSimple (Shared Individual-Market Playout Enterprise), FujinonTS-18A Image Stabilizer, MeasureandShape Tape Motion-Capture System,PanasonicAJ-HDC27V Variable Frame-rate Camcorder, Power-tek InternationalCPS Camera Power System, P+S TechnikMini 35 digital, Sigma System EngineeringSS-1018 Video Kachinko, Snell & WilcoxMach 1 Motion-Compensated Standards Converter, SumitomoFutureFLEX Cabling System, and 4D VisionDynamic Digital Depth.

"We are proud to award this year’s winners for the technical achievements they have brought to the industry," said TV Technology Editor Susan Ashworth, who presented the awards at the NAB2001 show along with Managing Editor Traci Tavares, News Editor Jonathan R. Pegg, Technology Editor Bob Kovacs and Associate Editor Patricia Gaul.

The Mario Awards were established in 1993 to recognize industry leaders who are responsible for technical breakthroughs that impact the future of video technology. The awards are named after Mario Orazio, a pseudonym for a nameless engineer and a renowned technology columnist for TV Technology who pens the popular column "The Masked Engineer." The awards are given out annually at the NAB convention to companies that demonstrate forward thinking and technical excellence in their products.

TV Technology is the industry’s leading magazine for technology news and reviews. Other editions include TV Technology América Latina, TV Technology & Production (Europe, Middle East and Africa) and TV Technology & Production Asia Pacific. The magazine is published by IMAS Publishing, the world’s largest publisher of audio and video publications.