TV Technology Announces STAR & Mario Awards for NAB2007

Falls Church, VA - TV Technology has announced the recipients for the coveted STAR and Mario Awards presented at NAB2007.

(click thumbnail)
(click thumbnail)

For Immediate Release

April 19, 2007

Contact: Tom Butts, Editor, TV Technology
703-998-7600, ext. 122

Falls Church, VA - TV Technology has announced the recipients for the coveted STAR and Mario Awards presented at NAB2007.

Now in its eighth year, the STAR Awards (for Superior Technology Award Recipient) are designed to celebrate and showcase the preeminent technological innovations available to the media industry. A panel of judges consisting of TV Technology editors and columnists reviewed a variety of products and services, examined the technical applications and their overall contribution to the industry, and then submitted their award nominees.

"Every year, the NAB show serves as the launching pad for thousands of new products and services for audio and video professionals," said Tom Butts, TV Technology Editor. "Our panel of editors walked the show floor in search of the most innovative technologies. The products and services that we selected for the STAR Award made the cut--they demonstrated their ability to help advance the acquisition and distribution of entertainment and information across the media spectrum."

Organized in 1993, the Mario Awards were established to recognize products that represent significant technical breakthroughs—many of these products and services have gone on to significantly impact the future of audio and video technology. The awards are named after Mario Orazio, a pseudonym for a nameless engineer and a renowned technology columnist for TV Technology who pens the industry's most widely read column "The Masked Engineer." The awards are given out annually at the NAB convention to companies that demonstrate forward thinking and technical excellence in their products.

Recipients of the STAR Awards are:

1 Beyond – Octoflex
AJA Video – Io HD
Apple – Final Cut Studio 2
Audio Technica – 1800 Series Dual-channel Camera-mount UHF Wireless System
Avid Technology – ScriptSync
Blackmagic Design – Intensity Pro
Cineform – Neo
Clear-Com – Tempest Digital Wireless Intercom Systems
Cobalt Digital – 9035 HD/SD Analog to Digital Converter
DNF Controls – Flex Control Network Station Playout System
Dolby – DP600 Program Optimizer
Evertz – EQX
Florical – Parking Spot
Global Microwave Systems – Messenger 2 Series Transmitters
Hamlet – Microflex
Harris – Centrio
Harris/LG Electronics – MPH
IDX – Endura Elite Battery Packs
I-Movix – SprintCam BC
JVC/BMS – Libre
Linear Acoustic – StreamStacker-HD
Middle Atlantic Products – IEC power cords
Network Electronics – 3 Gbps optical converters
NewTek – Tricaster Studio
Nucomm – NewsHub
Omneon – Media Deck
Panasonic – AG-HPX500
RED Digital Cinema – RED ONE camera
Redrock Microsystems – M2 cinema lens adapter
Rohde & Schwarz/Samsung – A-VSB
Ross Video – Vision Video Production Switcher
Sachtler – FSB 2 and FSB 6 Fluid Heads
Tektronix – Audio Sync Analysis for WFM 7120/7020/6120 Series
Telecast Fiber Systems – Viper II
Teranex – Teranex Mini
Thomson – Grass Valley Mustang MPEG-4 chip
Utah Scientific – UTAH-400 IP router
V4x Mobile TV Factory – V4x Sequencer
Weisscam – HS-1 camera
Wohler – Touchstone TSG

Recipients of the Mario Awards are:

beyerdynamic – Headzone surround-sound headphone system
Broadcast Pix – Slate switcher system
Curon – CVD (color vision deficiency)
Harbor Products – Silicone Rescue Tape
Maxell – SVOD (stacked volumetric optical disks)
Ocean Optics – SeaChanger dichroic color-changing lighting
RED Digital Cinema – RED ONE camera
Sony – BVM-L230 LCD reference monitor – EyeDirect HD P1 eye-contact system
Waav – AirBox X2 dual-carrier cellular router

TV Technology is the industry's leading magazine for technology news and reviews. The magazine is published by IMAS Publishing, the world's largest publisher of audio and video publications.