Triveni to Discuss Non-Real-time TV Technology at IEEE Broadcast Symposium

Richard Chernock from Triveni will present a paper at the IEEE Broadcast Symposium describing the use of ATSC DTV bandwidth to deliver non-real-time (NRT) services. Chernock said, “Standards for NRT delivery are under development now, and the involvement of working engineers will be critical to the immediate and long-term viability of these standards. I plan to outline key aspects of NRT delivery methods and the ATSC standards under consideration, and I encourage my fellow engineers to build on this knowledge and become involved in this exciting and quickly growing aspect of the broadcast industry.”

For more information on Chernock’s paper, refer to the Triveni press release. The 57th Annual IEEE Broadcast Symposium Web page has information on the Symposium program and registration information. I described Chernock’s NAB paper on NRT and added my own comments on development of NRT in my August RF Technology Column, Mobile TV Using Existing ATSC Technology.

Doug Lung

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. As vice president of Broadcast Technology for NBCUniversal Local, H. Douglas Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings. Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.
A longtime columnist for TV Technology, Doug is also a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is the recipient of the 2023 NAB Television Engineering Award. He also received a Tech Leadership Award from TV Tech publisher Future plc in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.