Skip to main content

The Big 10: New NAB Engineering Handbook Due Out

A big thumper of an engineering resource is about to hit broadcast technical circles, written by a list of veritable engineering all-stars.

The 10th edition of the NAB Engineering Handbook--all 2,120 pages of it--hits the streets just as the NAB convention gets underway in mid-April. It is published by Focal Press and the NAB; editors are Edmund A. Williams, David H. Layer, Graham Jones and Thomas G. Osenkowsky, an RW contributor. (RW is not involved in the project.)

The author's list is a Who's Who of radio engineering. A partial list: Garrison Cavell, Dane Ericksen, Doug Vernier, Chip Morgan, Dave Wilson, David Baden, David Maxson, Dick Rudman, Ty Ford, Jerry Westberg, Martin Stabbert, Mike Starling, Jay Tyler, Fred Wylie, Frank Foti, Bob Orban, Skip Pizzi, John Lyons, Dane Jubera, Cris Alexander, Ron Rackley, Dan Dickey, John Warner, William Meintel, David Otey, Tim Carroll, James Hatfield, Geoff Mendenhall, Steve Church, Rolf Taylor, Bob Surette, Schuyler Quackenbush, Jeff Detweiler, Phil Rayson and Harold Hallikainen.

The publisher tells RW Online the book is due at its warehouse on April 6, with U.S. readers getting it in mid-April and readers in the United Kingdom seeing it in mid-May.

The book is the result of several years of effort and has some 100 chapters by numerous experts. This edition has been updated to reflect recent advances in digital television and radio technologies

It will be sold by the NAB, major bookstores, Amazon and via Focal Press.

(Radio World)