Satellite Update – Oct. 8, 2010

From FCC Report SAT-SAT-00724:

  • • LightSquared Subsidiary LLC filed an amendment to its pending modification request seeking to postpone the milestone deadline for launching and commencing operation of the SkyTerra-1 mobile satellite service (MSS) satellite. The new deadline LightSquared is requesting is Jan. 31, 2011. The original deadline was May 26, 2010 and the previously requested extension was until Oct. 31, 2001. SkyTerra-1 will use the 1.6 GHz MSS band.

From FCC Report SAT-00725:

  • • The FCC granted special temporary authority to Globalstar Licensee LCC for 180 days to operate with eight additional low Earth orbit satellites and to make changes in the configuration of its "Big LEO" MSS satellite constellation. The FCC International Bureau's satellite division also designed Pegasus Development DBS Corp.'s proceedings regarding its call sign S2795 authorization as "permit-but-disclose" for FCC rules governing ex parte communications.
Doug Lung

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. As vice president of Broadcast Technology for NBCUniversal Local, H. Douglas Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings. Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.
A longtime columnist for TV Technology, Doug is also a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is the recipient of the 2023 NAB Television Engineering Award. He also received a Tech Leadership Award from TV Tech publisher Future plc in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.