RTNDA president receives honor

Barbara Cochran, president of the Radio-Television News Directors Association (RTNDA) and Radio and Television News Directors Foundation (RTNDF), has been named the 2008 recipient of the Distinguished Achievement Award in Broadcasting, given by the University of Georgia's DiGamma Kappa student society.

DiGamma Kappa and the Georgia Association of Broadcasters honored Cochran at a ceremony on Feb. 5 in Athens, GA. Other broadcasters who have previously received the award include Ed Bradley, Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Barbara Walters, Charles Kuralt, Ted Turner, Linda Ellerbee, Brian Ross and Bernard Shaw.

Cochran has continued “a tradition of improving the American story” by her “clear-eyed journalistic assessment” of what is happening across the spectrum of broadcast news markets, said E. Culpepper Clark, dean of the university’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communications.