Giants of Broadcasting Awards Announced

The 5th annual Giants of Broadcasting Awards ceremony and luncheon is scheduled for Sept. 19, at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York. The awards, sponsored by the Library of American Broadcasting at the University of Maryland, honors "individuals who played pivotal roles in creating and advancing the electronic arts."

Charles Osgood of "CBS Sunday Morning" and CBS Radio will be the master of ceremonies. The honorees will include Dennis FitzSimons, chief of the Chicago Tribune Co.; Joe Flaherty, the CBS technology chief who helped push an industry into HD; Catherine Hughes, chair and founder of Radio One; Charlie Rose, the urbane interviewer on PBS; Diane Sawyer, now co-anchor of ABC's "Good Morning America;" and Dennis Swanson, president of the Fox Television Stations Group who was said to "discover" Oprah. Posthumous honors will go to John Blair and Anthony Malara.

Reservations can be arranged in New York through Jessica Wolin at 212-685-4233, or by e-mail to