Four Columbus Broadcasters Launch ATSC 3.0 NextGen TV Service

Columbus, Ohio
(Image credit: Jumping Rocks/Universal Images Group via Getty Images)

COLUMBUS, Ohio—Four local television broadcasters, WSYX, WCMH-TV, WWHO and WTTE have launched ATSC 3.0 transmission, bringing NextGen TV service to viewers in Columbus, Ohio. 

WSYX is the Sinclair Broadcast Group-owned ABC/Fox affiliate in Columbus; WCMH-TV is the NexStar Media Group-owned NBC affiliate; WWHO, the Manhan Media-owned CW affiliate operated under a shared services agreement by Sinclair; and WTTE, the Cunningham Broadcasting-owned TBD affiliate operated by Sinclair under a local marketing agreement.

The four broadcasters are working together to air Fox, NBC, CW and TBD Network programming as NextGen TV services, according to an announcement from BitPath, formerly Spectrum Co.

PLUS: Broadcasters Eye ATSC Rollout of 16 Additional Cities by End-of-Summer

BitPath was responsible for the planning process of the Jan. 7 launch. It coordinated the efforts of the four stations, which will be charter members of BitPath’s broadcast data network, the company said.

Existing digital television service (ATSC 1.0) of each station remains available over the air, via cable and satellite. OTA viewers are required to rescan to continue receiving legacy digital television.

More information is available on the BitPath website (opens in new tab).

Stay up to date on all of the ATSC 3.0 deployments with TV Tech.

Phil Kurz

Phil Kurz is a contributing editor to TV Tech. He has written about TV and video technology for more than 30 years and served as editor of three leading industry magazines. He earned a Bachelor of Journalism and a Master’s Degree in Journalism from the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Journalism.