Skip to main content

FCC Commissioners Copps and Tate Sworn In

Michael J. Copps and Deborah Taylor Tate were sworn in as FCC Commissioners by Chairman Kevin J. Martin on Jan. 3. This is Tate's first term and the second for Copps.

Copps said, "The last four and a half years have been tremendously transformative for the world of telecommunications and the media. The future holds even greater challenge. I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues on the Commission, with the Congress and with all other stakeholders to help bring the most advanced, accessible and cost-effective communications system in the world to American consumers."

Copps holds degrees from Wofford College and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He has also served as assistant secretary of commerce for trade development at the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Tate holds degrees from the University of Tennessee. Before joining the FCC, she served for six years as director of the Tennessee Regulatory Authority. She has also served as attorney and senior policy advisor to former Tennessee Govs. Lamar Alexander and Don Sundquist.

One Republican seat still remains empty at the commission.