CEA Announces DTV Award Nominees

CEA announced the final nominees in 12 categories for the 2003 Academy of Digital TV Pioneers (DTV Academy) Awards, which recognize achievements in HDTV. The awards will be presented during CEA's Eighth Annual HDTV Summit, "Partnership, Policy and Profits," at the Washington, D.C. Convention Center, March 29. Online registration is now open at www.ce.org/hdtvsummit.

And the nominees are:

Best DTV Broadcast Network
* HDNet

Best Local DTV Broadcaster

Best DTV Cable System
* Comcast
* Cox
* Time Warner

Best DTV Satellite Service
* DirecTV
* Echostar
* Voom

Best DTV Satellite Programmer
* Discovery
* HDNet

Best DTV Sporting Event
* ABC Monday Night Football
* ABC Super Bowl XXXVII
* CBS College Football

Best Original DTV Material
* ABC Monday Night Football,
* CBS' "CSI: Miami"
* CBS Grammys

Best DTV Leadership (Industry)
* ESPN's Bryan Burns
* HDNet's Mark Cuban
* Zenith's John Taylor

Best DTV Leadership (Government)
* U.S. Rep. Rick Boucher (D-VA)
* U.S. Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE)
* FCC Chairman Michael Powell

Best DTV Leadership (Retailer)
* Best Buy
* Circuit City
* Sears

Best DTV Journalism
* TV Technology
* USA Today

People's Choice Award.
* ABC Monday Night Football
* CBS' "CSI: Miami"
* HBO's "Six Feet Under"