Skip to main content

Canadian Trains Get Internet Service

Passengers on Canada's VIA Rail service in Ottawa and Quebec have enjoyed Internet access through services operated by Parsons Corp., a broad-based firm involved in communications, construction and many other enterprises, since November 2006. Earlier this month Parsons Corp. transferred the operation of VIA Rail's Internet service to 21Net. As previously described in RF Report, 21Net is providing Internet access to Thalys trains in Europe.

21Net uses a satellite link to provide Internet connection to the trains, where its dynamic bandwidth assignment technologies improve the user's experience when connected to the train's Wi-Fi network.

"We are extremely proud to have been selected by VIA Rail and Parsons to take over the Internet operations and propose expansions of the services to both VIA Rail and its passengers, thus contributing to VIA’s commitment to quality services towards its customers,” said Henry Hyde-Thomson, chairman of 21Net.

Read all of Doug Lung's RF Reporthere.

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. He has been with NBC since 1985 and is currently vice president of broadcast technology for NBC/Telemundo stations.