Skip to main content

Belo and Hearst-Argyle Stations Win National Murrow Awards

TV stations belonging to Belo (NYSE:BLC) and Hearst-Argyle (NYSE:HTV) netted seven Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio-Television News Directors Association, according to both station groups.

Belo“s WFAA-TV, the ABC affiliate in Dallas/Fort Worth, won for its Web site; KGW-TV (NBC) in Portland, Ore., for Continuing Coverage; WCNC-TV (NBC) in Charlotte, N.C., for Sports Reporting; and KVUE-TV (ABC) in Austin, Texas for Videography. Belo“s 20-station group has won 23 national Murrows over the last eight years. This year, 11 Belo stations scored 32 awards in the regional Murrow competitions, held in April.

Two Hearst-Argyle“s 26 stations won three awards. WBAL-TV (NBC) in Baltimore won in the News Documentary and News Series categories; and KCCI-TV (CBS) in Des Moines, Iowa won in the Sports Reporting category. Hearst-Argyle stations won 29 regional Murrows.