AES announces awards presentations

Audio Engineering Society Awards Committee Chairman Wieslaw Woszczyk has announced the recipients of the organization’s awards to be presented at the 127th AES Convention at New York City’s Javits Center Friday Oct. 9. “Our members hold historical and current events in equal esteem,” Woszczyk said. “The awards pay tribute to originators of past technological and creative accomplishments and to members who have devoted extraordinary time and energy to significant AES initiatives.”

Recipients of this year’s Board of Governors Fellowship Award include engineer Rudolph “Rudy” Van Gelder, recognized for five decades of exceptional recordings of such legendary jazz artists as Miles Davis, John Coltrane and Sonny Rollins. The Fellowship Award goes to AES members who have rendered conspicuous service and for having made a valuable contribution to the advancement in or dissemination of knowledge of audio engineering or in the promotion of its application in practice.

In addition to Van Gelder, other recipients include:

  1. Jean-Marc Jot, for his contributions to the development of spatial sound processing, multichannel audio coding and artificial reverberation;
  2. Shawn Murphy, for contributions to the craft of recording and mixing of film music and to the advancement of surround-sound experience in cinema;
  3. Ray Rayburn, for his contributions to the art and science of sound system design, digital signal processing, routing and electromagnetic compatibility; and
  4. Daniel Weiss, for valuable contributions to the advancement in engineering practice and applications in the fields of digital audio mastering and signal processing.

The Silver Medal Award was established by the AES in 1971 in honor of audio pioneers Alexander Graham Bell, Emile Berliner and Thomas Edison in recognition of an outstanding development or achievement in the field of audio engineering. This year’s award will be presented to Ioan Allen in recognition of outstanding contributions, sustained over four decades, to motion picture sound, including audio recording and playback technology, operational standards, equipment and the acoustics of cinemas.