21 More Stations Join the Digital Transition

The NAB has announced that 21 more TV stations are broadcasting in digital. This brings the total number of stations to 768. The stations are:

WPMT, Harrisburg, Penn., (Fox)
WFXL, Athens, Ga., (Fox)
KUSI, San Diego, (WB)
KNWS, Houston, (Johnson Broadcasting-owned independent)
KXXV Waco, Texas, (ABC)
KTVN, Reno, Nev., (CBS)
KRNV, Reno, Nev, (NBC)
WXPX, Tampa, Fla., (Paxson O&O)
WTWC, Tallahassee, Fla., (NBC)
WBDT, Dayton, Ohio, (WB)
KFDX, Wichita Falls, Texas, (NBC)
KAUZ, Wichita Falls, Texas, (CBS)
KCCO, Alexandria, Minn., (CBS)
KCCW, Walker, Minn., (CBS)
KLDT, Lake Dallas, Texas (Johnson Broadcasting-owned independent)
KREN, Reno, Nev., (WB)
KBTV, Beaumont, Texas, (NBC)
WFYI, Indianapolis, (PBS)
WSEC, Jacksonville, Ill., (PBS)
KENW, Portales, N.M., (PBS)
WOUB, Athens, Ohio, (PBS)

According to NAB, DTV signals are now being transmitted in 184 markets that include 97 percent of U.S. TV households. In addition, nearly 72 percent of the more than 106 million U.S. TV households are in markets with five or more broadcasters airing DTV and 36 percent are in markets with eight or more broadcasters sending digital signals.