Tech Emmy winners named

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) has announced the winners of its 60th Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards, which will be presented at the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas on Jan. 7, the day before the 2009 International Consumer Electronics Show.

Ivan G. Seidenberg, chairman and chief executive officer of Verizon Communications, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Among the winners:

  • Harris/Louth and Sony won for Serial Interface and Protocols for Server/VTR control;
  • XOrbit and Scripts will receive the Delivery Confirmation Systems award;
  • the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers and Thomson Grass Valley were recognized for Development and Standardization of File Formats for Video and Audio;
  • TANDBERG Television and DIERCTV are sharing the award for Pioneering Development of MPEG-4 AVC systems for HDTV;
  • Harris, Micro Communications Inc. (MCI) and Radio Frequency Systems (RFS) will receive an award for Pioneering RF Combiners for Adjacent Channels on Common Antenna Systems.
  • The Metropolitan Opera Association gets an award for its ongoing live global HD cinemacasting;
  • Silicon Image, Thomson, Toshiba, Sony, Matsushita, Hitachi, Philips, Molex, Japan Aviation Electronics (JAE) and Intel were all awarded for their work in developing the HDMI protocol;
  • Advisory Committee on Advanced Television Service, the Advanced Television System Committee, the Advanced Television Test Center and the Advanced Television Evaluation Laboratory were all recognized for Standardization of the ATSC Digital System; and
  • the Video Coding Expert Group (VCEG) and Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) will receive an award for finalizing the MPEG-4 AVC Standard.