Skip to main content

SBE Selects New President and Other Officers

Barry Thomas, a 25-year broadcast engineering veteran, has been selected as the new president of the Society of Broadcast Engineers.

Thomas is vice president of engineering in the radio division of Lincoln Financial media. He becomes the twenty-fifth person to be elected to the SBE position.

“I’m excited about serving the society and helping continue the excellent efforts the SBE has made in certifying, educating and networking broadcast engineers,” Thomas said. “It’s our goal to concentrate our efforts on the core purposes of SBE, strengthen SBE chapters and facilitate our members’ involvement in creating the next innovations in broadcasting.”

Thomas’ one-year term of office begins Oct. 11 and he will be joined by a new SBE vice president, Vincent Lopez. Lopez in currently director of engineering for the Sinclair Broadcast Group Syracuse, N.Y., outlets, WSYT and WNYS.

Thomas and Lopez officially take office at the organization’s national meeting in Pittsburgh, Pa. next month. Other newly elected officers include Ted Hand, secretary and Ralph Hogan, treasurer. Six members were also elected to positions on the SBE’s board of directors. These new board members are Chris Alexander, Andrea B. Cummis, Dane E. Ericksen, Clay Freinwald, Hal. H. Hostetler and Jerry Massey. Returning board members include Ralph Beaver, James T. Bernier Jr., Keith M. Kintner, Thomas R. Ray III, Christopher D. Tarr and Larry J. Wilkins.