Samsung Cell Phone Features Mobile DTV Chip

Samsung Moment
Samsung announced Tuesday that its Moment cell phone has been selected as the first phone to showcase Samsung's mobile DTV chip. The Moment has a brilliant AMOLED display and uses what Samsung says is the world's first single-chip system for the ATSC Mobile DTV standard. The Moment, in partnership with Sprint, will be used in the Open Mobile Video Coalition's (OMVC's) Washington DC market demonstration.

Samsung was a co-developer of the ATSC mobile DTV standard.

Samsung was removing the Moment receivers from their display at the Mobile DTV Tech Zone Wednesday night when I tried to get a closer look at them, so I can't comment on the display or the reception. I hope to get a chance to check it out for next week's RF Report. Samsung has an excellent reputation when it comes to ATSC demodulator chips. A Samsung demodulator is used in the Pinnacle HDTV Pro Stick (Model 801e) that I've found to be one of the best USB ATSC receivers in a complex multipath environment.

Doug Lung

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. As vice president of Broadcast Technology for NBCUniversal Local, H. Douglas Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings. Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.
A longtime columnist for TV Technology, Doug is also a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is the recipient of the 2023 NAB Television Engineering Award. He also received a Tech Leadership Award from TV Tech publisher Future plc in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.