RF Shorts - Sept. 18, 2009

  • • The FCC has approved [PDF] a move by two Ft. Worth stations television stations. KTVT will move from channel 11 to 19 and KTXA will relocate from channel 19 to 29. Also see the Erratum [PDF] on the change in the Fort Worth DTV Table of Allotments. The FCC also amended the Post-Transition Table of DTV Allotments to allow WKYT-TV in Lexington KY to move from channel 13 to 36. In Chicago, WLS-TV's DTV channel was changed [PDF] from 7 to 44.
  • • In case you thought Clarity Media Systems LLC gave up on using the 2 GHz TV broadcast auxiliary band to provide a video programming to trucks and RV's at truck stops after the FCC denied its wavier request to operate CARS stations at Flying J Truck Plazas [PDF], it appears it hasn't. The commission's Public Notice listing Ex Parte Presentations and Post-Reply Comment Period Filing in Permit-But-Disclosure Proceedings [PDF] listed an oral presentation from Clarity Media Systems, LLC to Commissioner Baker and the Media Bureau. No additional information was available.
Doug Lung

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. As vice president of Broadcast Technology for NBCUniversal Local, H. Douglas Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings. Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.
A longtime columnist for TV Technology, Doug is also a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is the recipient of the 2023 NAB Television Engineering Award. He also received a Tech Leadership Award from TV Tech publisher Future plc in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.