NBC News Capus, Williams to speak at Murrow Award presentation

The Radio-Television News Directors Association will honor the winners of the Edward R. Murrow Awards and the RTNDA/UNITY Awards Oct. 16 in New York City at the Grand Hyatt New York.

NBC News president Steve Capus will accept the network’s award for Overall Excellence, and “NBC Nightly News” anchor Brian Williams will accept the network’s award for Best Newscast. Both are scheduled to make remarks.

The RTNDA will also recognize the stations that earned Murrow Awards for Continuing Coverage of Hurricane Katrina, including WLOX-TV in Biloxi, MI, and WWL-TV in New Orleans.

In all, 55 news organizations won 80 awards out of an initial pool of 3723 entries from 568 news organizations.

For more information, visit: www.rtnda.org/asfi/awards/awardsdinner06.shtml.