FCC Seeks Comment on Increased Power Limit for 12 GHz MVDDS Stations

Multichannel Video Distribution and Data Service (MVDDS) stations share the 12.2 to 12.7 GHz band with DBS downlinks. MDS Operations Inc. has requested a waiver of Sections 101.105(a)(4), 101.147(p) and 101.1440 of the FCC rules setting power limits for MVDDS stations using the 12 GHz band at an effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) of 14 dBm per 24 MHz. MDS Operations requested a waiver to allow it to operate transmitters with an EIRP of up to 40 dBm per 24 MHz of spectrum in each of its 80 licensed service areas.

MDS Operations stated that granting the requested waiver would not negatively impact DBS reception but would further the Commission’s goal of allow rapid, flexible deployment of MVDDS services.

The FCC is seeking comments on the requested waiver. Comments are due Dec. 19 and the deadline for reply comments is Jan. 18, 2008. More information is available in Public Notice DA 07-4575.

Doug Lung

Doug Lung is one of America's foremost authorities on broadcast RF technology. As vice president of Broadcast Technology for NBCUniversal Local, H. Douglas Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings. Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.
A longtime columnist for TV Technology, Doug is also a regular contributor to IEEE Broadcast Technology. He is the recipient of the 2023 NAB Television Engineering Award. He also received a Tech Leadership Award from TV Tech publisher Future plc in 2021 and is a member of the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society and the Society of Broadcast Engineers.