Skip to main content

FCC announces Final DTV Channel Assignments

Earlier this week, the Federal Communications Commission released a new DTV Table that provides television stations across the country with their final channel assignments for broadcasting following the DTV transition on February 17, 2009. The new table specifies channels for more than 1,800 stations and is considered a necessary step toward completing the DTV transition.
The new DTV Table is based on the tentative channel designations, or TCDs, proposed in the Seventh Further Notice for eligible stations, which, in turn, resulted from the channels that stations selected during the channel election process.
The adoption of the new DTV Table achieves two important goals. First, it finalizes the single channel on which each eligible broadcaster will operate. It also reduces the amount of spectrum used for television service. Stations chose a channel for post-transition operation within the new core spectrum for TV broadcast channels (channels 2 through 51). The remaining channels (52-69) will be reclaimed for public safety and advanced wireless services.
In conjunction with the Order adopting the new DTV Table, the FCC also issued a Further Notice that proposes channels and station modifications for 13 stations whose requests for modifications were received too late to be included in the new table. The FCC will assign channels for these stations following the comment period.