Commission grants six-month extensions to eight would-be DTV broadcasters

Eight major network owned-and-operated stations and affiliates have been granted another six month extension for transitioning to DTV operation, due to zoning and technical problems.

The delays, the FCC ruled, were “unforeseeable and beyond their control.” The stations are: Denver, Colo.'s KMGH-TV; KCNC-TV and KUSA-TV; WBBM-TV, Chicago, Ill.; WVIT-TV, New Britain, Conn.; WTVJ-TV, Miami, Fla.; and WTIC-TV and WFSB-TV, both in Hartford, Conn.

All of the stations were originally required to be on-the-air with a digital signal by November 1999. All have been granted previous extensions.

For more information, visit

Back to the top