Skip to main content

Audio post gets just rewards

The annual UK Screen Association Conch Awards winners were recognised at a ceremony at the Mayfair Hotel in Soho, London at the end of September. The awards aim to recognise and promote the talents of UK audio post production professionals in film and TV production.

This year's nomination process was tweaked to offer free nominations, and a public vote. The Fellowship award was decided by the committee.

This year's winners were:

Best Audio on a TV Entertainment Programme
Sponsored by Sadie, part of Prism Sound family
Winner: Top Gear – Evolutions

Commercial of the Year
Sponsored by Film London
Winner: SVW Golf 'Enjoy the Everyday' – The Jungle Group/Paul Hartnoll

Best Music Production
Sponsored by TC Electronic
Winner: Sweeney Todd – Mike Higham at AIR Studios & Out Of Eden Studios

Audio Media Unsung Hero Award
Sponsored by Skillset
Winner: Smudger – Formerly Videosonics

Best Film Soundtrack – Under £10 Million Budget
Sponsored by AMPS
Winner: Happy Go Lucky – Goldcrest

Best TV Dubbing Mixer
Sponsored by Media Lease
Winner: Pip Norton – Breathe Post Production

Best Audio on a TV/Film Documentary
Sponsored by Wise Buddah
Winner: Michael Palin's New Europe – Molinare

Best UK Film Re-Recording Mixer
Sponsored by Euphonix
Winner: Mark Taylor – MJM Sound

UK's Most Promising Newcomer
Sponsored by The Pinewood Studios Group
Winner: Glen Gathard – Shepperton Studios, part of The Pinewood Studios Group

Best Audio on a TV Drama
Sponsored by White Mark
Winner: Ashes To Ashes – Hackenbacker

The UK Screen Fellowship Award
Sponsored by Dolby
Presented to John Iles

Best UK Film Sound Editor/Designer
Sponsored by Digidesign
Winner: James Boyle – MJM Sound

Production Sound Mixer of the Year
Sponsored by The Hub
Winner: Simon Hayes

Best UK TV Sound Editor/Designer
Sponsored by Solid State Logic
Winner: Chris Roberts – Ascent 142

Best Film Soundtrack Of The Year – Over £10 Million
Sponsored by UK Film Council
Winner: Sweeney Todd – De Lane Lea

Best UK Commercial Sound Facility
Sponsored by Hub Plus
Winner: Grand Central Studios

Best UK TV Sound Facility
Sponsored by Scrub
Winner: Hackenbacker

Best UK Film Sound Facility
Sponsored by Fineline
Winner: De Lane Lea