CPJ to honor journalists with International Press Freedom Awards

Paul Klebnikov, slain editor-in-chief of Forbes Russia, will be honored posthumously
Publish date:

Four journalists will receive the 2004 International Press Freedom Award next month from the Committee to Protect Journalists. The group also will posthumously honor slain Forbes Russia editor-in-chief Paul Klebnikov.

The four include:

  • Svetlana Kalinkina, former editor-in-chief of the Minsk business daily Belorusskaya Delovaya Gazeta (BDG);
  • Alexis Sinduhije founded and directs Burundi's Radio Publique Africaine (RPA);
  • Aung Pwint and Thaung Tun, also known as Nyein Thit, have been imprisoned since 1999 for making a video documentary about the harsh living conditions in Burma, including footage of forced labor;
  • Los Angeles Times editor and executive vice president John Carroll will be honored with the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime achievement.

The awards will be presented Nov. 23 during a black-tie dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

For more information, visit www.cpj.org.

Back to the top