NAB Distinguished Service Award to be presented to Osgood

The long-time CBS newscaster will be honored for lasting contributions to broadcasting at NAB2008.

The National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) will award Charles Osgood, anchor of “CBS News Sunday Morning” and of CBS Radio Network's “The Osgood File,” with the NAB Distinguished Service Award. The award will be presented during the All Industry Opening Keynote, Monday April 14, at NAB2008, in Las Vegas.

Known as CBS News' "poet-in-residence," Charles Osgood has anchored “Sunday Morning” since 1994 and has been called "one of the last great broadcast writers" by his predecessor, Charles Kuralt. His voice is also known to millions of radio listeners for his daily news commentary, “The Osgood File,” on CBS Radio Networks. He has been with CBS since 1971, and has covered everything from breaking news to human interest stories.

Osgood has been recognized with four Emmy Awards and three George Foster Peabody Awards. “The Osgood File,” is a five-time recipient of the Washington Journalism Review's Best in the Business Awards. In 1999, Osgood received both the Radio Mercury Award and the International Radio and Television Society Foundation (IRTS) Award for significant achievement. He has also received the 1996 ASCAP President's Award, 1993 NAB Marconi Radio Award and 2005 RTNDA Paul White Award. He was inducted into the Broadcasting and Cable Hall of Fame in 2000, and the NAB Hall of Fame in 1990.

Each year, the NAB Distinguished Service Award recognizes broadcasters who have made significant and lasting contributions to the broadcasting industry. Charles Osgood will join the ranks of Ronald Reagan, Edward R. Murrow, Bob Hope, Walter Cronkite, Oprah Winfrey and others. NAB2008 will take place April 11-17, 2008, in Las Vegas; exhibits open April 14.

For more information, visit