TV Technology Europe Announces Recipients of STAR Awards at IBC2008

TV Technology Europe has announced the recipients for its STAR Awards, presented at IBC2008.

The STAR Award (Superior Technology Award Recipient) is designed to celebrate and showcase the preeminent technological innovations available to the broadcast industry. TV Technology Europe's editors and writers reviewed a variety of products, examined the technical applications and their overall contribution to the industry, and then chose 25 winners.

"STAR awards are given to interesting new products that help a user save money or accomplish a task in an easier way," said Mark Hallinger, Editor of TV Technology Europe. "The products selected help advance the industry—some were chosen because of technical novelty or innovation, some because they filled an important gap in the production or transmission chain, and some because they were just cool products."

16x9 Inc. on the BandPro stand: Shut-eye for Sony Viewfinders

Algolith: Algogear image processing line

Anton-Bauer: Stasis Flex

Autoscript: LED backlighting in prompters

Blackmagic: Mini-converter range

Bridge Technologies: MicroVB

Canon: BU 50H and 45H remote pan tilts

Cobalt Digital: OGCP-9000 Remote Control Panel for openGear

Digital Rapids: TouchStream portable streaming

EVS: XT2Web web access for remote production

Graham-Patten on the Argosy stand: Sonarae audio monitoring

Hamlet: Protean Axiom 3 Gig Test Signal Generator

Media Links: MD-MAX Integrated 3.2 Tbps Transport and Switching Solution

Miranda: XVP-3901 3Gbps/HD/SD Universal Video & Audio Processor

Nucomm: Messenger IP File Transfer System

Omnibus: 1080p 24 playout

Panasonic: AG-HMC151E AVCHD camcorder

Pixelmetrix: DVStor with Disaster Recovery

Quantel: SIP 2100 3D

Ross: Edit Set HD, with Editware edit controller and Renegade Audio mixer contributing

Sony: HVR-Z5E camcorder with MRC1

Studer: IO sharing between consoles

Thomson: LDK 8300 HD SloMo

Telecast Fiber: Copperhead Platform for Infiniti

Wohler: RM Series