SMPTE honors 18 outstanding members

Eighteen new Fellows were named at the SMPTE Honors and Awards Ceremony during the 145th Technical Conference and Exhibition last week.

SMPTE said a Fellow of the Society is “one who has, by proficiency and contributions, attained an outstanding rank among engineers or executives in the motion picture, television or related industries.”

The list includes Bruce Devlin, principal research and innovation engineer with Snell & Wilcox, who, at age 39, is the youngest SMPTE Fellow ever.

The new Fellows are:

Darcy Antonellis, executive-vice president, distribution and technology operations for Warner Bros. Technical Operations. Her responsibilities include the management of the studio and network technical operations components for content storage, fulfillment and distribution. Antonellis has served as Program Chair for SMPTE conferences and is a Manager in the Hollywood Section.

Curt Behlmer is managing partner and CTO of Digital Cinema Venture (DCV), responsible for management of technical affairs, including system design and integration, vendor relations and training. He is Chair of the SMPTE Digital Cinema Technology Committee and is a member of both the Standards Committee and the Study Group on Audio Production and Post-Production for Motion Picture and Television Entertainment Programming.

Roy Brubaker is senior-vice president, video post-production and general manager, film laboratory, for Crest National. While previously employed at Lorimar, he was an active participant in the launch of the electronic post-production process for editing and distributing television programming worldwide. Brubaker is SMPTE’s Sustaining Membership Chairman and a Governor for the Hollywood Region.

Colin Davis is vice-president, imaging technologies, at Command Post & Transfer Corp., responsible for the film operations in both Toronto and Vancouver. Prior to that, he worked at Kodak Canada for 27 years, Davis is an active member of SMPTE and has held numerous positions in the Toronto Section and at International conferences.

Bruce Devlin is considered the father of the Material eXchange Format (MXF). He established the European Union Integrated Society Technology funded project G-FORS, designed to create a standardized file format for the exchange of content between storage devices. Devlin is co-chair of the Pro-MPEG/AAF MXF File Format Working Group, chairman of the Pro-MPEG MXF Implementation Group, and most recently, an active participant on SMPTE technology committees.

Alan Hart is currently an executive-vice president at Modern VideoFilm, where he is responsible for all technical resources. He started his television career in 1967 with KCET Channel 28, the PBS station in Los Angeles. Hart has served as Manager and Chair of the Hollywood Section. He is now serving his second term as a Governor for the Hollywood Region and is also on the Board of the SMPTE Foundation.

Masaru “Mac” Jibiki retired from Fuji Photo Film Co. in 2003 after a tenure of 37 years. He contributed significantly to building new film stocks such as the industry’s first high-speed color negative, Fuji 500T speed product. Jibiki has served on various committees and organizations, including SMPTE Standards committees.

Stephen Lyman is a senior staff broadcast engineer at Dolby Laboratories. He began his career designing custom audio equipment for a recording studio and console manufacturer. Prior to joining Dolby, he worked at the Canadian Broadcasting Corp. and developed a system of standard audio and video measurement techniques. He was heavily involved with the company’s effort to implement high-definition television, digital audio broadcasting, and other new technologies.

Tom McMahon is a senior architect for Dolby Research, where he is responsible for identifying opportunities for the company to establish positions in new technology areas. McMahon is currently a SMPTE Head of Delegation to MPEG. He is also on the Board of the Hollywood Post Alliance.

Takuo Miyagishima began his career with Panavision in 1955. Since then, under his guidance, the company has been honored with two Academy Awards of Merit: In 1978, for the Panavision Panaflex motion picture system, and in 1994, for the anamorphic taking system. Miyagishima serves on the SMPTE Projection Technology Committee and the Working Group on Telecine Practices. He is an associate member of the American Society of Cinematographers.

Roger R. A. Morton is a research fellow at Eastman Kodak Co., currently working on scene-to-screen optimization of both cinema and television systems. Morton has recently developed a method to predict one type of digital artifact in motion picture systems. Morton has received 64 U.S. patents, plus the corresponding foreign patents.

Peter Mulder is the owner of Digiframe and a consultant in digital media technology. In 1998, he received the award for “outstanding contribution” to the enhanced and interactive TV Davic 1.3 specification. Mulder is an active participant in many broadcast-related international standards committees such as the SMPTE engineering committees.

Iain Neil is currently executive vice-president, R&D and optics, and chief technical officer at Panavision. He has more than 150 worldwide patents, issued and pending, in visual and infrared optical design, systems for defense, industrial and consumer applications, including HDTV.

Peter Owen currently serves as chairman and technical consultant of the International Broadcasting Convention (IBC) Council. Prior to joining IBC, he worked at Quantel, Inc., where he held several positions involving product design, development, manufacturing, customer support, and interfacing with the creative and technical communities. Owen has served as International Governor of SMPTE.

Karl Paulsen is vice-president of engineering at Azcar USA and Azcar Technologies, where he leads the technology efforts and manages a staff of 22 engineers and technicians. He currently participates on SMPTE engineering committees and has served as Section Chair and held other Officer positions in the Pacific Northwest Section.

Graham Roe has made numerous contributions to the European color system trials in the late 60s, culminating with the launch of the U.K. color TV service in 1967. Roe also introduced and refined the Chroma Key to replace back projection and led the development team that designed the pioneering “Ace” field store standards converter. Roe has worked on SMPTE and RTS (Royal Television Society) technology committees, as well as the IBC conference committee.

Stephen Scott is a television equipment architect consultant. He previously worked at Miranda Technologies as group leader of an engineering design team and concentrated on time code, audio, and the non-active picture aspects of the digital video signal. Scott participates on several SMPTE technology committees.

Leon Silverman, executive vice-president of Laser Pacific Media, has helped introduce new technology to Hollywood for the past 26 years. He played a key role in establishing Laser Pacific’s electronic laboratory, which pioneered many of the tools and techniques that are now the standard for the electronic post-production of film. Silverman is a Manager of the SMPTE Hollywood Section and also chairs the Education Committee. He is president and a founder of the Hollywood Post Alliance.

For more information

Back to the top