NAB To recognize Outstanding Technology at 2003 Convention; CBS' Hewitt to receive Spirit of Broadcasting Award

At its upcoming convention beginning April 5 in Las Vegas, Nev., the NAB will recognize outstanding products and technology with a new Award for Innovation in Media. AIM award winners will fall into three basic categories: content creation, content management and content delivery. Winners will be announced on the final day of the convention.

NAB2003 attendees will cast their votes at the show for the most groundbreaking products “that display a significant level of advancement by exceeding expectations for boosting efficiency, increasing user flexibility and creativity, and/or lowering operating costs.”

Five winners from each category will be selected. In addition, editors of key industry publications will select one overall winner in each of the categories.

In related convention news, the NAB will bestow Don Hewitt, creator and executive producer of CBS’ 60 Minutes news program, with the Spirit of Broadcasting Award at the NAB2003 Television Luncheon.

The NAB presents the "Spirit of Broadcasting" award periodically in recognition of general excellence and leadership. It is given to individuals or organizations that have made lasting contributions to the broadcast industry.

Hewitt began his career with CBS News in 1948 as an associate director of Douglas Edwards with the News, then served as producer-director of the broadcast for 14 years. He later became executive producer of the CBS Evening News with Walter Cronkite, before starting 60 minutes in 1968.

For more information visit

Back to the top