CEA announces 2004 Academy of Digital Television Pioneers Award nominees

The Consumer Electronics Association has announced the nominees in 10 categories for the 2004 Academy of Digital Television (DTV Academy) Pioneers Awards.

The awards will be presented March 15 at a special luncheon during the CEA's 10th annual HDTV Summit at the Washington, D.C. Convention Center.

Nominees will be recognized for their outstanding achievements in the advancement of HDTV throughout 2004.

The 2004 DTV Academy Award nominees are:

  • Best DTV Over the Air Network: ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC and WB Network
  • Best DTV Cable System: Comcast, Cox and Time Warner
  • Best DTV Cable or Satellite Service: DIRECTV, Dish Network/Echostar, Time Warner and VOOM
  • Best DTV Satellite Programmer: DIRECTV, Discovery, Echostar, ESPN, HDNet, HBO and VOOM
  • Best DTV Sporting Event: CBS Super Bowl XXXVIII, FOX 2004 World Series and NBC 2004 Summer Olympics
  • Best Original DTV Material: CBS for CSI, CBS for 2004 Masters Golf Tournament coverage, ESPN's HD Sports Center, and FOX 2004 World Series
  • Best DTV Leadership (Industry): Bryan Burns, ESPN; Peter Fannon, Panasonic Corp. of North America; Eddie Fritts, National Association of Broadcasters; and Jack Perry, Decisionmark
  • Best DTV Leadership (Government): Joe Barton, U.S. House of Representatives; Rick Boucher, U.S. House of Representatives; John McCain, U.S. Senate and Michael Powell, Chairman, Federal Communications Commission
  • Best DTV Leadership (Retailer): Best Buy, Circuit City and Tweeter
  • Best DTV Journalism: HDTV Insider, Sound and Vision and USA Today

For more information, visit www.ce.org.

Back to the top