Skip to main content

CEA Academy announces DTV Pioneers Awards

The Consumer Electronics Association's Academy of Digital Television Pioneers Awards Luncheon took place at the Washington D.C. convention center Monday, March 29. Awards were presented to the following organizations:

Best DTV Network
Nominees: ABC, CBS, HDNet
Winner: CBS

Best Local DTV Broadcaster
Nominees: KING, WETA, WRAL
Winner: WRAL

Best DTV Cable System
Nominees: Comcast, Cox, Time Warner
Winner: Comcast

Best DTV Satellite Service
Nominees: DirecTV, EchoStar, Voom
Winner: DirecTV

Best DTV Satellite Programming
Nominees: Discovery, HBO, HDNet
Winner: HDNet (Mark Cuban)

Best DTV Sporting Event
Nominees: College Football (CBS), "Monday Night Football" (ABC), Super Bowl XXXVII (ABC)
Winner: "Monday Night Football" (ABC)

Best Original DTV Material
Nominees: "CSI: Miami" (CBS), "Monday Night Football" (ABC), "Grammy Awards" (CBS)
Winner: "Monday Night Football" (ABC)

Best DTV Leadership (Industry)
Nominees: Mark Cuban (HDNet), Bryan Burns (ESPN), John Taylor (LG Electronics)
Winner: John Taylor, LG Electronics

Best DTV Leadership (Government)
Nominees: Michael Powell (FCC Chairman), Rep. Rick Boucher (D-Va.), Rep. Lee Terry (R-Neb.)
Winner: Michael Powell

The People's Choice Award
Nominees: "CSI: Miami" (CBS), "Monday Night Football" (ABC), "Six Feet Under" (HBO)
Winner: "CSI: Miami" (CBS)

The CEA’s Award of Distinction was given to Bryan Burns of ESPN for the network's dedication to HDTV.

Voting members of the CEA Academy from public television include Ed Caleca (PBS), Burnhill "Burnie" Clark (KCTS), Dick Green (CableLabs), Bruce Miller (Airinc), Mark Richer (ATSC), Joe Widoff (WHRO), and Ed Williams (PBS).

For more information on the Academy of Digital Television Pioneers visit

Back to the top