Brazil and Argentina Collaborate on Coordinated DTV System said the governments of Argentina and Brazil have agreed to work together to implement a single digital standard for the Mercosur customs union in the future (Mercosur includes Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay). However, after meeting, the Brazilian and Argentine officials also agreed that each country should decide on the standard that "best suits the technology available to them."

Argentina recently created a committee to advise the government on which DTV standard to select.

Recent reports indicate that Brazil was favoring a COFDM based system--such as DVB-H--the Japanese IDSB-T standard or a variation on these systems including technology from Brazil over the ATSC system, but no final decision has been made.