Skip to main content

RTNDF to honor stations in path of Hurricane Katrina

The Radio and Television News Directors Foundation will honor the stations located in the path of Hurricane Katrina as well as PBS’ Gwen Ifill and NBC’s William Wheatley, and at its 16th Annual First Amendment Awards Dinner March 9 in Washington, D.C.

Seven station groups will receive the First Amendment Leadership Award. The award will go to the groups and to their radio and television stations in Louisiana and Mississippi in recognition of their extraordinary coverage and dedication to public service shown in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Those receiving the award are: Belo (WWL-TV), Clear Channel Communications (WBUV-FM, WKNN-FM, WMJY-FM, WQYZ-FM, KHEV-FM, WNOE-FM, WODT-AM, WQUE-FM and WYLD-AM/FM), Emmis Television (WVUE-TV), Entercom Communications (WWL-AM), Hearst-Argyle Television (WDSU-TV), Liberty (WLOX-TV) and Tribune Broadcasting (WGNO-TV).

Ifill, of PBS’ “Washington Week” and “The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer” will receive the Leonard Zeidenberg Award. Wheatley will receive the First Amendment Service Award. Prior to retiring in June 2005, he worked as executive vice president for NBC News.

For more information, visit

Back to the top