ATSC appoints new chairman

SMPTE S-22 Committee Chairman William Miller will head the ATSC Technology Group
Publish date:

The board of directors of the Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) have appointed William Miller, general manager, Digital Television Planning and Standards, ABC-TV Broadcast Operations and Engineering division, to be the chairman of the Technology Group on Distribution (T3).

Miller has been active in industry standards work on several fronts for many years. His service with ATSC started in 1986, and over the years, he has served as chairman of a number of subcommittees, most recently T3/S6, the Audio and Video Coding Specialist Group.

Miller currently chairs the organization’s Television Systems Technology Committee and actively participates in most of the Society’s other engineering committees. Additionally, he serves on the Board of Editors of the SMPTE Journal. He was Engineering Vice-President of SMPTE from 1996 to 2001, during which time he represented SMPTE on the Executive Committee of the ATSC. A SMPTE Fellow, he was honored with the Society’s Progress Medal in 2002.

For more information, visit

Back to the top