TV Technology Announces Star, Mario Awards at the 2009 NAB Show

April 23, 2009
TV Technology has announced the recipients for the coveted STAR and Mario Awards presented at the 2009 NAB Show.

Now in its tenth year, the STAR Awards (for Superior Technology Award Recipient) are designed to celebrate and showcase the preeminent technological innovations available to the media industry. A panel of judges consisting of TV Technology editors and columnists reviewed a variety of products and services, examined the technical applications and their overall contribution to the industry, and then submitted their award nominees.

"Every year, the NAB show serves as the launching pad for thousands of new products and services for audio and video professionals," said Tom Butts, TV Technology Editor. "Our panel of editors walked the show floor in search of the most innovative technologies. The products and services that we selected for the STAR Award made the cut—they demonstrated their ability to help advance the acquisition and distribution of entertainment and information across the media spectrum."

Organized in 1993, the Mario Awards were established to recognize products that represent significant technical breakthroughs—many of these products and services have gone on to significantly impact the future of audio and video technology. The awards are named after Mario Orazio, a pseudonym for a nameless engineer and a renowned technology columnist for TV Technology who pens the industry's most widely read column "The Masked Engineer." The awards are given out annually at the NAB Show to companies that demonstrate forward thinking and technical excellence in their products.

Recipients of the STAR Awards are:

Adtec Digital - Adtec mediaHUB HD-422 encoder
AJA Video – Ki Pro
Avid Technology - Avid Media Access Architecture (AMA)
Belden Corp. - 7732LL Video Cable
Blackmagic Designs - UltraScope
Boxx TV – Meridian Zero Delay HD
Calrec – Apollo
Canon – EOS 5D Mark II
Cineform – Neo3D
Clear-Com – I.V. Core
Evertz - Streamlink
For-A - FVW-500HS HD/SD Video Writer
Frezzi – Micro Sun Gun
Harris – Maxiva Transmitter
JVC – GD-463D10 46-inch LCD Full HD 3D Monitor
KTech – Xtreme 2000
Litepanels – 1x1 Bi-Focus LED Lighting Fixture
Logitek – JetStream Mini
Marshall Electronics – OLED portable camera-top/field monitor
Miller Camera Support – Compass 15/Compass 20 Fluid Heads
Miranda – Kaleido-X16
Nexto – Nexto eXtreme Storage Device
Newtek – 3Play
Nucomm – ProQ
Omnitek – OTR-1003 Data Analyzer/Test Signal Generator
Panasonic – AG-HMC40 HD Camera
Petrol – Inflatable Camera Bag
RTW – SurroundControl
SeaChange International – MSV 1000 Standalone Media Server
Sencore – ATX2000 ATSC-M/H Multiplex Signal Generator
Snell – Pro-Bel 800 Series Router
Sony – HXRMC-1 HD Camera System
Trilithic – EASyCAST Encoder/Decoder
TSL – PAM1-3G8 Compact Multichannel Audio Monitor
Varizoom – Zero Gravity Shoulder Rig
VCI Solutions – Verity
Videoframe – Power Over Ethernet Timelink VNODE
Ward-Beck – openGear M6205C Embedded Audio Processor
Wheatstone – D-8 Audio Console
Wohler – Amp 1 E16-3G Audio Management and Monitoring Solution

Recipients of the Mario Awards are:

Avocent – HMX Digital KVM Over LAN
Barco – FSN Production Switcher
Brother – Document Viewer
Canon – EOS-5D Mark II
Gekko – Gekko Light with Kleer Technology
Fujinon – Facial Recognition for Precision Focus
Image Engineering – IE Analyzer 4 Software
Monarch – Virtuoso 200 Trackless Virtual Studio System
Riedel - Mediornet
Snell – Pro-Bel 800 Series Router

For more information on TV Technology, contact Tom Butts, Editor-in-Chief, at [email protected] or (703)852-4631.

Receive regular news and technology updates.
Sign up for our free newsletter here.